TELL AN OLD JOKE DAY

TL 7-24 TELL AN OLD JOKE DAY

7-24 THE FLIGHT OF THE HUMBLE BEE
Humor is a reminder that no matter how high the throne one sits on, one sits on one’s bottom.   – Taki

I am amazed at super moms, soccer moms, karate moms, piano lesson moms and all other categories of moms out there! God knew before the beginning of time that I was not the type of person who could do what these great women do. I’m the one who stands on the sidelines, cheering them on and offering them a shoulder to lean or sometimes cry on when they need it.

My mom had a favorite joke she told me when I was sick.

Q: How do you make a tissue dance?
A: Put a little boogie in it!

Today is TELL AN OLD JOKE DAY.  I know a joke isn’t going to make everything better – but it could bring a smile to your face.  So…  let’s see – hmm…  let’s listen in to this conversation.

ha ha…

I’m thankful for a mom that told old jokes all the time.  She was always trying to get some reaction from me, and it was usually a shaking head and rolling eyes.  Back then we didn’t say “whatever”, but I imagine I would have done that too.

Flip_Wilson_Joe_Namath_Flip_Wilson_Show_1972

Remember THE FLIP WILSON SHOW???

 

(1972)

 Humor is perhaps a sense of intellectual perspective:  an awareness that some things are really important, others not; and that the two kinds are most oddly jumbled in everyday affairs.   – Christopher Morley

Here’s an old joke I used to tell my dad.

I never wanted to believe that my Dad was stealing from his job as a road worker.  But when I got home, all the signs were there.

Then I’d usually give him a big grin and an arr arr arr…

Life is tough, so take a moment to tell an old joke today.  You might just make somebody’s day a lot brighter.  Joking around with family members relieves stress and draws you closer.

Here’s an old joke for the road: A farmer woke up on a Sunday morning to a terrible snow storm. The road was not visible. He started his tracker and drove to church making the only tracks he saw. He pulled up to church to see the lights on and went in and greeted the preacher. The two of them stood there and talked for a while. When no one else came the preacher asked, “What do you want to do?” The old farmer said, “Well preacher, if I had only one cow show up, I would still feed it.” So the preacher went to the podium and preacher a full message, calling for repentance and good deeds. When he concluded he walked down and shook hands with the old farmer and asked, “What did you think?” The old farmer said, “Well, if I had only one cow showed up I would feed it. But I would not give it the whole load.”

The flight of the humble-bee. Moms (and dads, for that matter) who do what they gotta do for their families and walk humbly with their God. Love you guys and praying for you as always!

Let me know what you think!!!

