GORGEOUS GRANDMA DAY

TL 7-23 GORGEOUS GRANDMA DAY

7-23 GRANNY LAVELLA
Today is GORGEOUS GRANDMA DAY. When I get to heaven there will be so many things to see and do, and first I want a hug from Jesus – not one of those “good to see ya” hugs that last about 2 seconds, but a really long hug! He’s been my best friend for so many years, when I finally see Him face to face, yeah, I want a hug!

The second thing I want to do is renew the relationship with my family! I didn’t know Granny LaVella very long, but I knew her well. She and Grandpa Frank lived on a farm in Northern Oklahoma. We got to visit the farm nearly every weekend and I looked forward to those visits.

I was their youngest grandchild, so I got some very special treatment. I was the miracle for my folks. They could not have children and adopted me when I was only a few days old. There are a few basic lessons I learned on the farm. Lesson number one: the chores do NOT wait. You get out there and get it done – NOW. When it’s time to milk the cow, son, you’d better get out there and do the milking. Bessie does not care if you want to sleep another half hour, and she doesn’t care if it’s cold outside – but you’d better warm those hands up or else.  Lesson number two:  don’t drink the cream off the top.  There are consequences for that action.

I miss the farm and yes, that feather bed! I’ve always said I could leave the city and go live in a small community somewhere and be fine with it. Some people think they would be bored or it would make them crazy, but not me. I would enjoy an uncomplicated life.

Grandpa Frank and Granny LaVella were the sweetest people and they were God-fearing souls who would not hurt a fly. They lived their lives and loved their God. They walked humbly but stood proud for the values they embraced. May I do the same.

Let me know what you think!!!

