ON THIS DAY IN HISTORY

TL ON THIS DAY IN HISTORY (5)

THEY DON'T MAKE CHINESE RED LIKE THEY USED TO
I had a thought; an idea of how something would work. I was so sure it was right! I was so confident that it would be perfect and I was so excited to get started on the project!  My heart was in the right place and my intentions were good.

In our old house, we painted an accent wall in our basement, then built shelves to display some dishes. It turned out so well. I am not brave enough to paint an entire accent wall in this house. Yes, I am a coward! I decided the next best thing was to paint one small table a beautiful Chinese Red. I reasoned that a table could be re-painted or discarded if it didn’t go well.

It did not go well. My little table was absolutely orange! The poor little thing looked like a pumpkin when it was finished. I kept saying, “It will dry darker – it’s going to turn Chinese Red by the time it’s dry.” Nope – didn’t happen!  Of course, it was just a table so it wasn’t a life or death sort of impact.  But sometimes if we have good intentions and don’t seek God before we act, it can have a more serious impact – not just on us, but on others as well.  Here’s a somewhat exaggerated example.

How many times do we cry out to God that despite our best efforts and good intentions, things ended badly? I’ve done it and I’ll bet you have too. It’s much more difficult to praise God during those rough spots when the results are less than desirable.  It’s so easy to give God glory and honor when things end well, isn’t it?

On this day in 1962, Bob Dylan recorded BLOWIN’ IN THE WIND, a song that proved to be the most powerful protest song ever.  He insisted it was not written with that in mind, that it was not his intention for it to be used as a protest song.  You can listen to the song on You Tube.

This here ain’t no protest song or anything like that, ’cause I don’t write no protest songs.  – Bob Dylan

The lyrics we sing have unimaginable impact on society even though Dylan described his song as “just another song”.  Whether he wanted to see it or not, it became the unofficial anthem of the civil rights movement.

We must be more responsible and careful to pray over what we create.  Yes, God gives us the talent and the ability.  It is up to us to include Him in the creative process and make sure our end product glorifies Him.  We need to think about our intentions, pray to God about them and trust Him for the result.  ❤

 

 

Let me know what you think!!!

