ON THIS DAY IN HISTORY

TL ON THIS DAY IN HISTORY (3)

HEAVEN IS JOY WITH JESUS
On this day in 1776 in Philadelphia, the Liberty Bell rang out from the tower of the Pennsylvania State House.  It summoned citizens to the first public reading of the Declaration of Independence, by Colonel John Nixon.  As an American that naturally makes me feel proud because it was the beginning of our country’s freedom.

The freedom I look forward to in the future is heaven.  The older I get, the more attractive heaven sounds because God’s Holy Bible promises that there will not only be no more parting, but there will be no more pain! I will no longer have to buy Mineral Ice at Wal-Mart and take a bath in it. I won’t have to walk with a cane. Blood sugar? What’s that???

He will wipe away every tear from their eyes, and death shall be no more, neither shall there be mourning, nor crying, nor pain anymore, for the former things have passed away. – Revelation 21:4

Not long ago, we were shopping at an antique store and I found a beautiful decorative plate. It was solid black with a stream of bright colors running through it. I was mesmerized by it and intrigued with the intricacy of the pattern. For some reason, it reminded me of heaven’s brightness in the shadow of death.

In my Father’s house are many rooms. If it were not so, would I have told you that I go to prepare a place for you? – John 14:2

I like to think that my dad is in heaven planning and designing mansions. I know it is God who has already prepared my place, but I like to think that maybe dad is building little extras for my place, much like he did down here for me. My mansion will be yellow and blue. After all, surely the colors there will be the most vivid ones – and the Lamb of God is the light – so it will be very bright! We will praise Him forever for all He’s done for us.

This is from 1948, but it’s as true today as it was back then.  May we never take our liberty for granted.  May we always be grateful to God that we live in America.

I read an article about what a good blog is made of. They said a good blog post should be researched thoroughly and written with a great degree of accuracy and no beating around the bush. They said the average blog reader has a goldfish’s attention span – about 9 seconds. People scan and if it “catches” them, they read, if not, they move on.

Well, research, hmm… God’s Word is my source and God’s Holy Spirit is my inspiration. Written accurately? I pray before I write, so I sure hope so. Wow, if the subject of heaven does not “catch” you, I feel sorry for ya!  Wink!   😉

Let me know what you think!!!

