INDEPENDENCE DAY

OLD GLORY'S TIMELESS STORYIndependence. Liberty. Freedom. These are just a few words to describe what we celebrate here in America. I’m thankful to be an American citizen and have freedom of speech and freedom of religion. Every day when I write a blog post I thank God that I have these rights and freedoms.

Freedom has its life in the hearts, the actions, the spirit of men and so it must be daily earned and refreshed β€” else like a flower cut from its life-giving roots, it will wither and die. – Dwight D. Eisenhower

I have taken some criticism about this blog, but I have never been told it is either illegal or immoral to continue posting to it. I hope and pray the day never comes when I’m breaking the law by expressing my views as a Christian.

Let freedom never perish in your hands. – Joseph Addison

We are a land afire with debate! It makes me smile because even though liberal thinking makes me crazy, I’m happy to know that liberals and conservatives have the same rights, privileges and freedoms to express their opinions. When certain points of view are targeted and crushed, that is when liberty is in danger. When I think of the recent I.R.S. scandal I am upset because if they had gotten away with “targeting” conservative groups and essentially weakening them, we would be in danger as a country. How sad that something is not done since the I.R.S. did get caught with their hand in the cookie jar, so to speak.

There are countries where we could not enjoy a lively debate or share our faith in God through Christ. How very blessed we are to live in America!

Fireworks along the Arkansas river, Wichita, Kansas. Yeah, we pronounce it ar-KANSAS river… lol!!!

I know this is not the most popular blog on the web, but I’m sure glad I have the freedom in America to write and share my faith in God through Christ with you.

Please enjoy this JULY 4th poem from the steeple:

(7) HAPPY BIRTHDAY AMERICA FROM THE STEEPLE
Happy 238th birthday, America! ❀

4 comments

  1. Jonathan Caswell · July 4, 2014

    Reblogged this on By the Mighty Mumford and commented:
    ORT-ORT-ORT-ORT!!!!! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Chester Murray · July 5, 2014

    Pray that we celebrate
    300 years

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think!!!

