A COMMENTARY FROM THE HEART

TL A COMMENTARY FROM THE HEART (2)

JULY IN THE KANSAS SKY
Back on the first day of Summer, I saw a post on facebook that said, “The first one to criticize the hot temperatures is going to get smacked after the awful winter we just survived!” I had to laugh because let’s face it… it’s just plain HOT outside! So, yeah – go ahead – SMACK me!

Don’t knock the weather; nine-tenths of the people couldn’t start a conversation if it didn’t change once in a while. – Kin Hubbard

That’s not a bad little song to get stuck in your head, is it? For once the phrase GREAT GAIN means something positive! I usually use that phrase to mean I’ve over-indulged on food again. In that case, the GREAT means a large amount, which is not something good – **sigh**.

The apostle Paul had a few words of instruction on the subject of contentment:

Not that I am speaking of being in need, for I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content. I know how to be brought low, and I know how to abound. In any and every circumstance, I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance and need. – Philippians 4:11-12

While I suppose we could certainly apply that instruction to something as basic as weather conditions, it’s probably meant to be applied to more personal matters. He speaks of situations rather than conditions. This is one lesson that I must admit I’m still learning and I may be learning for the rest of my life. I don’t like to want for anything. As I get older, however; it becomes clear to me that much of what I think I want is not what I need. Usually in time I realize that the things that I think are necessities are not things I need.

So today I would challenge all of us to re-examine our list of necessities. How many of those things can be moved to the want list? You may be surprised how many things you really can live without and still be quite content. Oh, and as for the weather… yes, I will be content – and run in to enjoy the wonderful air-conditioned house just as often as I can!   😉

Let me know what you think!!!

