A COMMENTARY FROM THE HEART

TL A COMMENTARY FROM THE HEART (13)

OLD AGE
Is your hearing as good as it used to be?  Listen to this simulation of hearing loss:

It is usually very quiet in my house; unless you take into consideration the sound of wheels turning in my brain as I crank out another blog post, or the sound of my husband going quickly here or there to do yet another chore that has to be done around the house.

Some days I just sit and watch him go from project to project in amazement! I’m so proud of the progress he’s made health-wise. I try to be the kind of positive support I’m supposed to be. He has a stubborn determination to keep going. He has fought to regain his health – and I admire that.

Something really funny happened the other night. We were sitting out on our deck and he asked a question out of the blue. I’m not sure if I didn’t hear the question or if I was just zoning, but for whatever reason I said, “Huh, what’d you say?” Then he said, “Huh?” We both just started laughing at that point! Is this what it’s like to grow old with another person? Your conversation turns into a stream of “huh’s”???

To be able to ask a question clearly is two-thirds of the way to getting it answered. – John Ruskin

I could blame him for not asking the question clearly in the first place, but since I don’t even remember what the question was, I can’t in good conscience do that. I was zoning – I do that a lot. More than likely I had an idea for a poem flying around in my mind. You know, the older I get, the more I realize that I need to get those ideas written down quickly or they will disappear – poof! Oh well, such is life. I’m alive and have had the privilege of getting older.

You are as young as your faith, as old as your doubt; as young as your self-confidence, as old as your fear; as young as your hope, as old as your despair. – Douglas MacArthur

I think the key to growing old gracefully is to laugh at moments like that, don’t you?

Let me know what you think!!!

