A COMMENTARY FROM THE HEART

TL A COMMENTARY FROM THE HEART (14)

NOW I VOW
This morning I’m sitting here drinking coffee and thinking about the past. I’m thinking about the old friends I have and the new ones I’ve made. My mind was rambling through events of the past and I began thinking about the surprise gift my husband gave me for our 20th wedding anniversary.

Awe!!!

He made arrangements with the folks at Silver Dollar City to schedule a time at their little chapel so we could have our vows renewed. Of course I knew we were going to SDC but had absolutely no idea we were going to the chapel. It was so beautiful, in that down-home country way! The parson was quite a character and wow the lady who played the little spinet piano was amazing! It was quite a ceremony! We stood there with three other couples to renew our marriage vows.

It’s a good idea to renew vows once in a while. By renewal, we are reminded of commitment and the things that are really important in life. When we renew vows, we have a priceless opportunity to step up and show true integrity in our moral fiber. It’s our chance to walk the proverbial walk and not just spout off with a lot of phony talk.

Love is a symbol of eternity. It wipes out all sense of time, destroying all memory of a beginning and all fear of an end. The vows we make to our spouse mean something special.

But what about those promises, or vows, we make to God? Shouldn’t they mean even more? I think so, however; it is not my job to tell you how to keep your vows any more than it is your job to tell me how to keep mine.

Just remember, there’s a right way and a wrong way to do everything and the wrong way is to keep trying to make everybody else do it the right way. – M*A*S*H, Colonel Potter

I’ll leave you with a gentle reminder. Pray and read your Bible every day.

Let me know what you think!!!

