A COMMENTARY FROM THE HEART

TL A COMMENTARY FROM THE HEART (20)

THIS NEW DIET

We are never prepared for what we expect. – James A. Michener, Caravans

Well, I went in today for the dreaded A1c test (the 3 month average blood sugar). I was hoping for better news. It was 8.1 which is not as good as I would have liked. My doctor and I talked about my diet, exercise and medicines. She has increased my insulin to 30 to 35 units every night, which means I’ll be buying the Levemir even more often. That’s the most expensive of all my medicines, but I don’t know what else to do. I’m still going to eat a good diet and move every day.

I think summer is a great time to start eating healthier. The garden vegetables are abundant and at our house we don’t like to turn on the oven because it makes the house too hot. I’m declaring this a salad summer for sure!

It’s difficult to think anything but pleasant thoughts while eating a homegrown tomato. – Lewis Grizzard

Tomatoes are the one food that I can have as much as I want. The problem with that, of course, is the acid content. I eat as much as I want, however, because I’m the only one in our house that likes them!

Life expectancy would grow by leaps and bounds if green vegetables smelled as good as bacon. – Doug Larson

Oh – all this talk of tomatoes and bacon makes me want a BLT!!! You know, when that bacon is smashed up against the lettuce, it really does make it more palatable. I had not thought of it that way before!

I’ve decided that common sense needs to rule the day.  I can eat dessert – I just cannot eat ALL of the dessert in one sitting!  Take a look at this cake recipe!

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Fresh Apple Cake
3 Cups apples, cubed (do not peel)
1 Tablespoon vanilla
2 Cups Splenda
3 Cups flour
2 Eggs
1 Cup vegetable cooking oil
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon cinnamon (can use more)

1 teaspoon allspice
1 small jar cherries (chopped with juice)
1 Cup pecans (chopped)

PAM

Mix sugar,oil and eggs; beat well .
Add rest of the ingredients and mix well .
Pour into prepared tube pan.
Bake at 325* for 1-1/2 hour. This is a heavy cake so be sure to check to make sure it is done in the middle. It may require additional baking time.
This cake keeps well , wrapped in foil and refrigerated, if it makes it in to the refrigerator !!!

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

I have another appointment in 3 months. So, I’ll just take my medicines and keep a happy outlook and a cheery disposition. Mix that with plenty of exercise and prayers, I think things will get better. ❤

Let me know what you think!!!

