A COMMENTARY FROM THE HEART

COMMENTARY FROM THE HEART 35

Down through the years, I turned to the Bible and found in it all that I needed. – Ruth Bell Graham

As Father’s Day fast approaches, my thoughts turn to precious moments I spent with my dad in church services when I was a little girl. As the pastor read the morning Scripture, my dad would follow along with his finger and I pretended I was reading it too. Before I learned how to read the words, I learned that when Jesus spoke, it was written in red.

I was raised to respect God’s Holy Word. I didn’t question it, but accepted every concept as something God meant for me to apply to my life. Love and forgiveness are part of Christianity 101. Some days that is easier to follow than others (I am the first to admit that), but nonetheless, it is not just an offhand suggestion from God – it is a command.

When daddy shared his Bible with me, it made me feel so grown up. I thank God every day for those Sunday mornings!

He didn’t tell me how to live; he lived, and let me watch him do it. – Clarence Budington Kelland

When daddy died, of course my mama kept his Bible. It wasn’t until September of 2005 I really got to take a good look through that precious book – dad’s Bible. I saw all the verses that meant the most to him and was taken aback because many of the verses he had highlighted are also ones I had highlighted in my Bible. Great minds think alike. Yes, I’ll take that as a compliment.

One father is more than a hundred schoolmasters. – George Herbert, Outlandish Proverbs, 1640

NOT JUST A BOOK

Later in my life I backslid. At the worst, I kept thinking about those Sunday mornings when I sat on that old oak pew (no, they were not padded), snuggled up with my daddy, pretending to read his Bible. I’m so very grateful for a daddy who kept loving me and praying for me even when I lost my way for a time. I’m reminded of how much more my heavenly Father cares for me. My earthly father was amazing. How much more amazing and awesome is my heavenly Father? ❤

Let me know what you think!!!

