A COMMENTARY FROM THE HEART

TL A COMMENTARY FROM THE HEART (23)

THE PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

I love that… UNDER GOD!!!

What is allegiance?

allegiance: The fidelity owed by a subject or citizen to a sovereign or government.

I know I’m old, but back when I was in school, there were two things we did before we got down to the business of learning. First, there was a morning prayer. No one ever questioned it, we just knew that each morning we would bow our heads before our Creator and give thanks to Him for another day of life. That’s just what we did. Then we all stood, put our right hand over our heart and recited the Pledge of Allegiance to the American flag.

These things don’t happen in classrooms anymore. Nothing is the way it used to be in school, so how do they teach children today about faith? How do they teach them about allegiance? Do they learn about the concept of fidelity? Who do they thank for another day of life, and another day to learn?

I don’t have children, so I don’t have first-hand knowledge of classroom activities. I did hear from my kids in Sunday School though. I asked them one day if they prayed in school. I didn’t ask them if they had corporate prayer, but if they ever prayed. They all looked at me as if I’d lost my mind. “No”, they said. “We’re not allowed to do that.”

Then I asked if they ever said the Pledge of Allegiance. They once again looked at me as if I’d just stepped off the crazy express. “Of course not. Kids haven’t done that in a LOOOONNNNGGGG time.” Aside from being made to feel very old, I took note of their lack of concern about it. I asked if any of them KNEW the Pledge of Allegiance. I got blank stares from them. I wanted to cry.

From that day on, I always had an American flag in my Sunday School class, along with a large Bible so we could do the Pledge to the Bible, followed by a prayer. My Sunday School class left me knowing about allegiance to their country, and most importantly, allegiance to their God.

Let me know what you think!!!

