A COMMENTARY FROM THE HEART

TL A COMMENTARY FROM THE HEART (15)WISTERIA

I don’t suffer from seasonal allergies, so the sights and sounds and scents of spring fill me with joy!  My heart goes out to those who have to enjoy spring with a spade in one hand and a Kleenex box in the other!

I love wisteria, or is it spelled with an “a”? Experts at the Los Angeles County Arboretum and Botanic Garden maintain the plant was named to honor Caspar Wistar (1761-1818), an American physician and teacher from the University of Pennsylvania responsible for writing the first anatomy textbook. When the name of Wisteria was put into the book it was incorrectly transcribed.

The spelling is of little importance when standing under the canopy in awe of the visual beauty and stunning fragrance.

Aside from the amazing scent and unique appearance of wisteria, the heartiness of this vine is like no other. When other plants are fading fast in the Kansas heat, the wisteria stays strong and beautiful throughout the season.

One of my favorite authors, Beth Hoffman, talks about the strength of wisteria:

Wisteria is my favorite flowering vine. Do you know why? I shook my head, ‘No ma’am.’ ‘Because it’s strong — just like me.’ – Beth Hoffman, Saving Cee Cee Honeycutt

Wouldn’t we all like to have all of those qualities? The strength of wood-like vines, a sweet scent and such beauty?

In Christ we can definitely have strength and assurance while showing sweetness in our attitude and be beautiful and Christ-like in our behavior.

The Lord is my strength and song, and He is become my salvation; He is my God, and I will prepare Him an habitation; my father’s God, and I will exalt Him. – Exodus 15:2

THE CANOPY

The strength of wisteria in a canopy also reminds me that the strength of God covers us throughout our lives. His strength is perfect when our strength is waning. ❤

Let me know what you think!!!

