MOTHER’S DAY

TL MOTHER'S DAY

(5) HAPPY MOTHER'S DAY FROM THE STEEPLE

http://youtu.be/BLUYo-Nc4zg

You know, sometimes funny things happen in church – that’s just the way it is. It usually happens at a solemn moment when you’re supposed to be focused and serious – that’s when somebody says or does something that makes you want to bust out laughing – but you can’t!

The heart of a mother is a deep abyss at the bottom of which you will always find forgiveness.  – Honore’ de Balzac

In April of 1976 I turned 15 years old. Mom and I had been at odds for a few years and I went through teenage rebellion big time. Nothing she did was right and I struggled to be an independent and unique individual. But that all changed when I turned 15. Suddenly mom and I became best friends again. I finally saw my mom as more than my mom. I saw her as another woman. She had feelings and I realized I was hurting her feelings. I decided it had to stop.

The sweetest sounds to mortals given are heard in mother, home and heaven.  – William Goldsmith Brown

By Mother’s Day, our new-found friendship blossomed and I laughed with mom more than ever! We spent less time arguing and more time in conversation. We were more open to hear each other than ever before. Those were the sweetest years with her because we got along so well.

Mother love is the fuel that enables a normal human being to do the impossible.  – Marion C. Garretty

It’s sort of funny because when I was little and talked in church I got taken out (and not too gently) by my dad and spanked. But I was more mature and fairly well-behaved in church services at the age of 15. I began playing the piano in my home church at the age of 12, so I was on the platform for most of the service.

Mirror mirror on the wall, I’ve become my mother after all.  – Unknown

On Mother’s Day, I looked out over the congregation and saw my parents seated on the second row, piano side! Something got mom tickled and I looked at her and got tickled too. I didn’t even know what she was laughing about (or trying not to laugh at) but I knew I was in big trouble! Nobody could see her trying not to laugh, but since I was seated at the piano, I was busted if I started laughing! Why is it that we get tickled in church at those moments when it’s so quiet you could hear a pin drop – like just before prayer time or during some other quiet time?

It was those times that helped us grow closer together not only as mother and daughter, but as best friends. I haven’t talked with my mom for almost ten years. I miss her like crazy! At least I stopped thinking, “Oh, I need to call mom and tell her about this!” For the longest time I did that and I was afraid it meant that I was losing my mind or something. Turns out a lot of daughters go through that stage when they lose a mom they were used to talking with on the phone every day.

A mother is one who understands the things you say and do.  Who always overlooks your faults and sees the best in you.  A mother is one whose special love inspires you day by day.  Who fills your heart gladness in her warm and thoughtful way – a mother is all these things and more – the greatest treasure known.  And the dearest mother in all of the world is the one I call my own.  – Unknown

She can’t come back to visit me, but one day I will see her again in heaven. There will be no more goodbyes there – no more parting. We can have all the tickle starters we want then! I look forward to it. Happy Mother’s Day in heaven, mom! I love you more. Yeah, I got the last word – so there!

Dear Lord, please somehow let mama know I’m thinking of the fun times we shared in church today.  I want her to know that I don’t cry all the time.  Thank You.  In Jesus’ Name, Amen. 

Let me know what you think!!!

