FUN AT WORK DAY

TL 1-30 FUN AT WORK DAY

Follow your dreams – unless it’s that one where you’re at work in your underwear.  – Unknown

http://youtu.be/8TNQ6RsmoIk

Do you have fun at work???  Well, today you should!  If you are a boss, I have news for you.  Did you know you will get much more productivity from your employees if you make a fun work environment for them?  That’s right!  Nobody wants a job that seriously affects their ability to giggle.  I’ve had a few of those jobs in my life, and I found I made more mistakes and took more “sick” days because I just did not want to be there.

 Find a job you like and you add five days to every week.   – H. Jackson Brown

I’m not saying a workplace should be a circus (unless you actually work in a circus), but there needs to be a bit of fun every day.  Make your employees want to come to work with emotional incentives and a positive overall attitude.

I had three children while I was earning my PhD at Harvard.  When I met with a therapist, one of the first things she asked was, “When was the last time you read a book for fun?”  That day, schlepping my preschoolers through the grocery store, I picked up a copy of Jurassic Park.  I read all night.  That question became a pivotal part of my career as a coach and self-help author.  Inject fun into any joyless portion of your life.  Everything can change.  – Martha Beck, PhD

Positivity works from the top down – not from the bottom up.  If you as a boss have a great outlook and make things more fun for your people, then your people will respect you and work well with and for you.

I’ve worked for some great people, and I’ve worked for some not so great people.  The great ones make sure you know you matter and make sure the work environment is friendly and not hostile or overly competitive.  They don’t micro-manage, but they know what is going on in their department.  There is always an element of FUN with a great boss.

 Thank God every morning when you get up, that you have something to do that day which must be done, whether you like it or not.  Being forced to work and forced to do your best will breed in you temperance and self-control, diligence and strength of will, cheerfulness and content, and a hundred virtues which the idle never know.   – Charles Kingsley 

Leadership is a gift some people naturally possess.  It’s important to learn how to be the best leader you can be for the sake of those under you.  The bottom line is, the better you treat your people, the more work you will get from them.  You have to earn their respect and their commitment.

All happy companies are different:  Each one earns a monopoly by solving a unique problem.  All failed companies are the same:  They failed to escape competition.  – Peter Thiel

For most people, committing time to a job is not just about getting a paycheck.  It’s about knowing you can have a bit of fun along the way and not get in trouble for it.  🙂

 

 

Let me know what you think!!!

