ANSWER YOUR CAT’S QUESTIONS DAY

TL 1-22 ANSWER YOUR CAT'S QUESTIONS DAY

FORGIVE ME
http://youtu.be/r22iB0Jdjwk

My cat is so independent.  He does not jump up on my lap every time I invite him.  This morning for ANSWER YOUR CAT’S QUESTIONS DAY, he asked me why I can’t say no to people as easily as he says no to me.  Good question!

I have a problem saying NO.

I say YES when I so desperately want to say NO. It has happened a few times in different churches. If it’s not something in the music department, it is a teaching position that needs to be filled. I get hooked in, and once you are there, you have to be dependable and reliable in your duties.

Joy is the holy fire that keeps our purpose warm and our intelligence aglow.  – Helen Keller

Without a true JOY and passion for the job you do, you will either do a half-hearted job or find excuses to not do it at all. No one deserves that kind of worker in a church. Whatever job you take on in the body, make sure you do it to the very best of your ability. Be dependable and reliable. Do what GOD has called you to do. It’s His approval that matters, after all.  JOY = JESUS FIRST, OTHERS SECOND AND YOURSELF LAST.

It’s not fair to tell someone you will do something when your heart is screaming NO with every fiber of its being! Be honest and sincere in your response. It’s really the right thing to do for all concerned. The right and honest response is, “Thank you for asking me. Would you please give me some time to pray about it?” That buys you time to think and pray instead of beat your head against a post because you said YES when you should have just taken some time to ponder and pray about the added responsibility. And yes, you do need to ask GOD what you should do. Don’t get caught up in the rationalization that you don’t have a career, a job, kids, grandkids or anything else that takes your time, so maybe you should do this. Huh-uh. If GOD says DO IT – then… yeah – DO IT!

I used to be a member of the club of Christians (a large club) who thought that God would strike us down with lightning if we said NO.  Maybe it’s because I’m getting older, but I’m no longer a member of that group of unhappy Christians.  I won’t be renewing my membership this year.  It has finally dawned on me that I serve God – not people.  My people-pleasing ways of the past are over.  For years I fell in this trap – do what others want me to do and be their very good friend.  Then when I show a little backbone and initiative – begin to let them know I no longer want to do what they want me to do – and suddenly, I am no longer their friend – hmm…  funny how that works!  Not ha ha funny – sad funny.

Know this… when you give an insincere answer without at least praying about it, you have basically lied. To lie is a sin, and sin needs to be forgiven. So before you get your nose out of joint with someone who has backed you into a corner, you’d better seek their forgiveness for agreeing to take on a job that your whole heart was not in to begin with. You should just say NO and let your No… be NO!

One comment

  1. Lori · January 26, 2014

    Loved what you wrote this morning. This is so true and I’m the worlds worst about saying YES before I have time to think about it or pray about it like I should.

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think!!!

