THANKS LIVING DAY 37

TL THANKSGIVING

PRAYER OF THANKS FOR SAFETY

How important is safety these days? When I was a kid we didn’t have to wear a helmet to ride a bike and we had bench seats in our car with a lap seatbelt. That was “safety” back then. I remember when mom or dad had to slam on the brakes, their right arm would automatically smack across me, bracing me! Some of you remember that too, don’t you?

We are so safety conscious these days. I can’t imagine using those car seats for kids! They look so complicated! No wonder I have to wait about ten minutes for that mom in the Wal-Mart parking lot to get her child strapped in before I can get to my car door to leave.

Have you ever been out-of-town and lost? My daddy used to tell me I could get lost in my own back yard because I am so directionally impaired – but I digress. Being lost is the most helpless feeling in the world, especially in unfamiliar territory. No one likes to be lost.

I’m not perfect – there, I said it. I won’t say it again – I didn’t stutter. Perfection is not something that will be everyone’s lasting memory of me. I’m bold and I jump in and sometimes I make a great big mess of things! I can’t tell you how many times I have “rushed” God’s timing. I do rush in – but I’m a work in progress. God is working on me and teaching me that it is always best to seek His advice before just moving on with something.

When you rush God there are consequences. God forgives the root sin when you ask Him to – but there are still consequences for the actions – and sometimes those consequences are long-term. Trust me when I tell you sin will take you further than you ever wanted to go – in the wrong direction. An old hymn comes to mind:

But I have good news. God is patient and He is waiting to help you. He knows you are not perfect but He wants to help you learn how to trust His timing instead of acting and then saying, “Okay God – now bless what I’ve already done.” It doesn’t work out so good that way. Wait on Him. Wait on His timing.

Today – I’m thankful that God always allows U-turns on His road. If you are traveling the wrong direction, just make a U-turn and start relying on God and His perfect timing. ❤

Let me know what you think!!!

