CAMERA DAY

TL 6-29 CAMERA DAY

Scrapbookers are a different breed

The things we hope for, the things we need.

We wish for tape runner to finish that row.

We sometimes wish our guests would go.

We wait all day for that time to be

That special time – that time for ME.

Each photo is mounted, the colors arrayed,

Stickers and punches have been carefully laid.

Now we relax, this is our pleasure

Scrappin’ this page will soon be a treasure.

We always ignore that mental warning

Scrappin’ all night makes it rough in the morning.

But time’s unimportant, we don’t heed clocks

We just need paper and our photo box.

A spot adhesive helps to adhere

Those lifetime of moments that bring us cheer.

Our project awaits us, now we proceed.

This must be heaven – what more do we need?

https://youtu.be/b3-DLcZ7awQ

Today we celebrate CAMERA DAY!!! As I researched this holiday, several suggestions were given for celebrating, including a camera-theme party or a day out with your camera, taking photos of nature. These are great suggestions, but when I think of cameras, my mind quite naturally goes to scrapbooking!

I’ve been a digital scrapbooker for over ten years. I have compiled about twenty scrapbooks – everything from my photos of childhood to a book of my mother’s side of the family, to a book of my sweet dog, Casey.

If you decide to make greeting cards to sell, think twice before using a rubber stamp because that stamp may be under a copyright and you could possibly be violating copyright laws if you use it and then sell your card.  It’s a little fuzzy, but copyright laws are important.  I would suggest you use vintage prints for greeting cards if possible.  They have that retro feel that we all love and there are some beautiful designs on the internet that are labeled public domain.

http://youtu.be/eELV8qEiixw

My husband thinks that there should be a Betty Ford clinic for scrapaholics. He whole-heartedly supports the notion that a scrapbooker who is not holding firmly to her camera will very quickly develop the DT’s. He thinks this innocent hobby can turn a corner and head down obsession avenue.

He came up with this theory shortly after we attended a Manheim Steamroller Christmas concert in 2007. Everything was decorated in the Grand Palace to the nines and there were plenty of photo ops. I happened to have my camera in my purse when I stepped into the ladies’ room.

Now – I collect angels. I don’t have an extensive collection, but I have several angels, so when I notice a pretty angel, I like to take a photo of it. Inside the ladies’ room there happened to be a beautiful wall hanging of an angel. I knew I had my camera on me, so I went ahead and snapped a picture of it. I don’t think it dawned on me that it was hanging in a restroom! I was so excited about the photo, I ran up to my husband and showed him what I had seen.

He was trying to hold his laughter. With a straight face, he asked for the camera. I didn’t want to give it up, but I reluctantly handed it to him. He told me to stay put and he was going to the men’s room. I waited patiently for him to return. He mockingly ran up to me with the camera in his hand and said, “Look what I got a picture of.” My first thought was, “Wow – maybe they have angels in the guys bathroom too.”

I turned on the camera to see what he was so excited about. It was a photo of the urinals.

Well played, Palmer. Well played.

True story – I have the photos – ALL OF THEM – in the scrapbook to prove it!  Will I show them to you?  Um…  nope!

Oh – we recently went to the Longaberger Homestead in Ohio.  Yes, I did have my camera and used it a LOT.  Here is a slide show of that trip.

https://youtu.be/E0PlFTKIhyM

Happy CAMERA DAY!!!  🙂

Let me know what you think!!!

