BUY A MUSICAL INSTRUMENT DAY

TL 5-22 BUY A MUSICAL INSTRUMENT DAY

https://youtu.be/XoNNfw93sVw

Music is a moral law. It gives soul to the universe, wings to the mind, flight to the imagination, and charm and gaiety to life and to everything. – Plato

Today is BUY A MUSICAL INSTRUMENT DAY!!! What a temptation that would be, but I don’t want to go into that kind of debt now. When I bought my Clavinova it was a total GOD thing! I got paid one Friday and was looking through the classifieds in the newspaper. I rarely look at the paper, but that was the only reading material in the break room and I didn’t take a book to read. I spotted an ad – someone wanted to sell their nearly new Clavinova for only $1,000!!! My first question was, “What’s the catch?” I arranged to go look at the instrument and to my surprise, it really was all they claimed. The people were obviously well off and did not need money and wanted to sell the instrument quickly. I stood in the foyer (which you could land a plane in) and wrote the check! We loaded it up and it came home with me! Of course that transaction happened nearly ten years ago, but the Clavinova still works fine. It is not current in its technology – it uses discs to record. I’m not one to do a lot of recording, so it really does not bother me. I just like to play – and I enjoy all the different voices. It’s a lot of fun and how I unwind in the evening.

You must see your goals clearly and specifically before you can set out for them.  Hold them in your mind until they become second nature.  – Les Brown

The thing we give most of our time and attention to is the thing we love most.  For me, that is music.  Without a moment’s hesitation I say that music is my first love.  OK – second love.  Of course I love Jesus first.  Um…  ok music comes in a close 4th – after my family.

I’ve discovered “fake books” and love them.  When I play within the confines of traditional written music – the notes, staff, rhythm – I am simply playing what someone else has already written.  It is not my whole creation but rather an interpretation of the writer’s vision.  A fake book gives chords with no other instruction.  It allows the one playing to experiment with rhythms and be as creative as they feel like being on any given day.  One day I may want to play a simple tune, but the next day I may want to be a little more intricate in my playing.

I have several “fake books” and hardly touch my traditional music anymore.  I’ve always experimented with music, from hymns to jazz to blues.  I simply do not enjoy following the songwriter’s rules.  Rules were made to be broken, right?

Maybe you’re not ready to sink a wad of cash into a new instrument right now, but if you have not tried to play from a “fake book” yet, I invite you to give it a try.  Just buy one and give it a whirl.  I really think having the freedom to fill in the way you want to will give you a whole new appreciation for music!  Use your imagination and let those fingers fly!   😉

Let me know what you think!!!

